Okay George, you’re “The Boss”

There he was, sitting in my father’s overstuffed easy chair, shaking his head.

I’m not sure what day God appointed George to run my life but he was my Boss long before the Yankees called him their boss.

That particular evening, in the spring of 1950, I was dressed in a navy-blue shantung suit and getting ready to go to a spinster dinner at my friend’s house when George stopped by to visit.

He took one look at me in my outfit and asked,”Why are you wearing that?”

My mother overheard him and when she came into the living room and saw what I had on, she laughed and said, “He’s right Mary Jane, you better change your outfit. After all, George is the BOSS.”

Mary Jane Schriner

Published in: on November 20, 2010 at 3:20 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://mjschriner.wordpress.com/2010/11/20/okay-george-youre-the-boss/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bruce Allen, chris lynch. chris lynch said: RT @bruceallen: Neat blog: First time George was called "The Boss" http://cot.ag/cL69ID [...]

  2. This is AMAZING! Sharing your insights about George Steinbrenner and his early traits as “The Boss”. Thank you Mary Jane, you are a special person.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

